23 Things I learnt at 23 – Do unto others as you would have them do unto you

Due to unforeseen computer breakage I’ve been finding it difficult to blog recently. However, I will finish this series of blogs. So, here we go… lesson three. Which seems particularly apt given the state of our world at this time.

rebecca_van_ommen_hand_still_life_photography_closeupphoto credit to Rebecca Van Ommen Photography

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you – a statement that should be used as often as possible. We grant ourselves far more leeway for our actions than we grant for others.

I am guilty of this, as I would argue are many others. How often have you given yourself forgiveness because you knew you deserved it e.g. when you snap at a loved one because you’ve had a long day at work, or when you lose patience at work or with your kids because of a personal issue like an argument with a spouse or bad traffic or just a tough few days. We then turn around and say “yeah, but I was having a bad day” “they were just in the wrong place at the wrong time” “but they don’t understand what I was going through.” But do we ever ask what they were going through? When someone cuts us up on a roundabout, before we honk our horn and curse them, do we wonder why they were in such a hurry and give them the benefit of the doubt? When someone insults us do we wonder if perhaps they have been feeling insecure and deserve forgiveness? Often, no. This is something I am learning more and more the older I get, I hope one day to master it.

Catch up and read my previous lessons below:

Lesson Two: Do not judge someone else’s decisions

Lesson One: We spend too much time at work to hate it

Leave a Reply

